I Am the Boss of Me

bicol express
I retired in my forties. Seriously people like me don’t retire; we just need change and a new challenge. When my last work day came I didn’t have a back-up job ready. My first week away from the institution was a real struggle. I missed my desk, I missed my friends and the community.

Freedom I told myself! Then separation anxiety slowly crept in with the dawn of an empty schedule. The jobs were out there but I was being picky pondering if should be employed or set-up shop. I used to be a ruthless businesswoman but fell into the corporate trap of receiving a salary. A decade of financial security slowly killed my entrepreneurial spirit. Leaving was a leap of faith and the end of my comfort zone, after all Steve Jobs said “stay hungry, stay foolish”.

In my new found solace I discovered a millennial concept called “coworking” spaces. In this new productivity nest I followed my old work routine. The social interaction in this shared environment helped me transition. After weaning from my old establishment I started becoming busy writing, consulting, and cooking again. I realize now that the opportunities are endless.

This week I accepted a project supplying packed food to offices. The profit margins are low but I need to start somewhere.  I wake up early to market, cook and deliver orders. I work only in the mornings giving me more time to do the things I love. Baby steps…

Being an entrepreneur can be quite challenging.  This morning I panicked because I was taking too long frying a ton of fish. The kitchen was a mess with splatters of batter everywhere. Despite the rush, I still needed to tidy up before leaving.  In my previous job I used industrial machines, had a culinary assistant and kitchen steward to clean up for me. I was so tired but happy to get my groove back.  I’m blissful to be back in the kitchen, this time it is MY kitchen and I am my own boss.

About Pam

Teacher, cook, foodie, wanderlust
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I Am the Boss of Me

  1. M.Winter says:

    How fulfilling! It may be tiring but definitely satisfying!

  2. Anna Buckley says:

    Go for it Pam! You would be the perfect character for one of my books…strong, entrepreneurial woman. Good luck x

  3. The Monching says:

    That life is just a dream for someone like me who’s stuck in a desk job. It might sound bad at first, but as they say – the first steps are always the hardest. Best of luck to you. 🙂

  4. Lori Denise says:

    Best of luck to you and your new business 🙂

  5. I think you are very brave to get out of your safe routines to become an entrepreneur. It means endless work hours, but it is such an exciting feeling. Good luck 🙂

  6. What a nice blog you have 🙂 I love your thoughts! I am also planning to have a business in the future and this post is really inspiring. Already followed you! 🙂 Hope you visit my blog too! xx

  7. Dawn says:

    I’m on the same journey and it’s inspiring for me to connect with fellow travellers. Don’t lose sight of your vision.

  8. Hi Chef Pam, I didn’t realize you made this huge and wonderful change! I hope all is well and wish you all things wonderful!

Leave a Reply

