El Nido Palawan food trip blogs : Island hopping tours and restaurants

20130507-112652.jpg

It is summer time in the Philippines. I’m here in El Nido Palawan, a group of paradise islands known as “the last frontier”. I’m staying in town and the people are just so friendly. I think I’ve been here quite long because I have figured out the Wifi passwords of most restaurants. Everyone is a familiar face and I’m getting the local discounts already.20130507-120211.jpg

The main activity here is island hopping. There are four tours to choose from. In each tour you visit an average of five islands. It takes the whole day and comes with lunch cooked at the beach for P700-900 per person. The best are Tour A (for Small and Big Lagoon) & C (for Hidden and Secret Beach). Tour B is only interesting for Snake Island, a sandbar which shouldn’t be missed. 20130506-114955.jpg

In the late afternoons it is nice to explore town, or take a tricycle to catch the sunset at Las Cabanas beach. You may walk or bike further beyond the right side of the cove for more serene spots. Squidos Hilltop is another awesome place to watch the sun go down.20130507-150019.jpg

In the evenings the restaurants line the seashore with tables. Music from bands in Pukka bar or Sea Slugs create a party atmosphere. Other good restaurants to check out are Arts Cafe and Gallego. Habibi is a nice place to chill for divers. Island life is very laid back and I wish I could stay here forever!

Take advantage of the freshness and inexpensiveness of the seafood. There are plenty of places to eat in El Nido but I think the best cooks on the island are the tour guides/boatmen !!!!!

Logistics:

Egay Castrillo’s Place – (homestay in town) very clean fan & AC rooms with private bath +639153219126

To get to El Nido : From Manila fly to Puerto Princessa. Take a 6 hour van ride. On the way there I took a public van right outside the airport for P600. However they would overload and pick-up passengers along the way. It was horrible! I should have taken the RORO bus instead for leg room.

For my return I used a van company called Daytripper. It was such a pleasant ride back with their comfortable leather seats and limited number of passengers. Our driver was driving at a safe speed and even required us to wear seat belts.  It was like riding the van version of business class. They are very professional answering emails and have an online payment system. I paid P800 but the extra P200 was so worth it!

In Puerto Princessa I stayed in Go Hotels , conveniently beside Robinsons Mall.  This I also highly recommend. Clean and cheap but with the amenities of a deluxe hotel. It’s even better than Ibis.

About Pam

Teacher, cook, foodie, wanderlust
This entry was posted in diving, Food, Philippines, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to El Nido Palawan food trip blogs : Island hopping tours and restaurants

  1. What an interesting blog you have. You seem to have a very busy lifestyle. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I learned things I never knew. Thanks for sharing.

  3. timothynh says:

    What fun! Thanks for you comment on my blog. I will be stopping by yours often. I will be headed to the Philippines in the fall traveling around and spending some time in Min D’oro. I may ask for tips here and there, if that is okay.

    be well!

    • Pam says:

      Hey Tim Mindoro is great for diving. If you are in the Philippines you must drop by El Nido. It is for me one of the most beautiful places in the world. Will PM you the details for Mindoro 😉

  4. Pingback: El Nido Palawan January Fiesta | Cooking Class

Leave a Reply

