Follow the light

20130127-092334.jpg

It is total darkness inside one of the cabins of the Japanese shipwreck Taiei Maru. Exploring this Coron Palawan wreck at 16 meters, I swim through a narrow passageway when my tank hits a snag. I can not move…I am trapped. My dive buddy is up front and can not see me, so I signal with my flashlight. I stop. I listen to the sound of my tank and hoses. I wait for hissing and am fortunate there is none. My heart skips a beat but I remain calm. I try to breathe. I still can. I figure my apparatus is intact. Thank God! I swim down a few inches and make it through the tiny hole. I follow the light outside and escape death. I am free! The next day I come back to dive some more.

20130127-092323.jpg

About Pam

Teacher, cook, foodie, wanderlust
This entry was posted in diving, Philippines, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Follow the light

  1. Victor Ho says:

    I definitely try to stay out of caves and such, just to avoid such a complication.

  2. Hi Pam! Great to hear you went back for more! Wrecks are one of my most favorite places to dive.

Leave a Reply

