Julia Child and my favorite culinary movies

As a rule I never ever bring home work. To relax after a long tiring day in the office I throw my cares away and become a potato chip junkie, sit in (or on )the lazy boy, pop in a dvd, and master the art of becoming a couch potato. I can barely move or budge when I am in this zombie state…. I like to watch chick flicks, epic films, and romantic comedies. I hate horror movies. I have memorized the lines and could watch the “American President”, “Notting Hill”, and “Pretty Woman” over and over again. When it comes to culinary related or inspired movies here are my favorites:

1. Danish film “Babette’s Feast” – this is a real classic that foodies MUST watch
2. German film “Mostly Martha” ( I don’t think the American version “No Reservations” did the original film justice)
3. Ratatouille – this cartoon I recommend to young aspiring chefs to learn more about the kitchen basics
4. The Freshman – A funny film staring Mathew Broderick and Marlon Brando on offering exotic and endangered animals on the menu
5. Chocolat – loved its location in Burgundy France
6. Tortilla soup – American re-make of Ang Lee’s Taiwanese film “Eat Drink Man Woman”
7. Kailangan Kita – Aga Muhlach and Claudine Barretto’s movie on Bicolano Cuisine

I finally got to see the movie “Julie and Julia” last night. Unfortunately it is not on my list of favorites and must watch culinary films. To learn more about the culinary icon I would recommend Food Network’s tribute to 90 year old Julia Child with Wolfgang Puck.

About Pam

Teacher, cook, foodie, wanderlust
This entry was posted in blog, California, food tours, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Julia Child and my favorite culinary movies

  1. gloria says:

    I have seen almost all the movies you mentioned but have you seen Woman on Top with Penelope Cruz. It is also a movie about food and cooking. You should watch it. I have seen Julie and Julia on my way from Germany to the Philippines last march for a 3 week vacation. Love your webiste. Write more about Filipino food.

  2. gloria says:

    I have seen almost all the movies you mentioned but have you seen Woman on Top with Penelope Cruz? It is also a movie about food and cooking. You should watch it. I have seen Julie and Julia on my way from Germany to the Philippines last march for a 3 week vacation. Love your webiste. Write more about Filipino food.

  3. Pam says:

    Thanks Gloria. I’m looking forward to Eat, Pray, Love… starring Julia Roberts!

Leave a Reply

