Yes we can!

The girls make bibingka (rice cake) the traditional way.  It takes them forever to light charcoal and  as they do they make a complete mess fanning the ashes everywhere to create a fire.  I was so tempted to make them use the oven or the salamander but I wanted them to experience how our ancestors made bibingka…hehe!

I am staying up late to watch the inauguration of President Barak Obama. Pacific time means I have to stay up until 1:00 a.m.. It amazes me how the “power of one” can inspire so many. Everyone has a purpose in this world…President Obama has his and mine in my own little way is to help promote Filipino cuisine. Right now the best way I can do this is to teach Filipino cuisine to our fast food raised generation before they forget that our food is an integral part of our culture. In class I try to teach them to do everything from scratch and do things the traditional way. I hope my students will learn that our food is beyond ordinary and that there is a fascinating uniqueness in our cooking methods.  Today everyone is fearful of the looming recession. If only aspiring chefs knew the magnifying effects of using our recipes on their menus. Using local ingredients  helps lower food cost, creates more jobs in agriculture and in the countryside, boosts local culinary tourism, and lessens our dependency on imported ingredients. And when  our recipes are used in a menu abroad it increases exports for our local ingredients.  Yes we can do something in our own little way to help our economy…yes we can put our cuisine on the world map…. all it takes is a paradigm shit to love our cuisine first before others.

Making puto bungbung with the traditional steamer and bamboo molds

Filipino street food – adidas or chicken feet

About Pam

Teacher, cook, foodie, wanderlust
This entry was posted in blog, school events. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yes we can!

  1. A. Ramos says:

    Hi Chef Pam!! 🙂

    woooow! our picture in your blog? What an honor! Thank you! hahaha!
    oh! Your description about us struggling to fan the charcoal and create the bibingka just in time for the function was INTENSE! I would SURELY never-ever forget that experience.

    If I had to chance to be just like you (hehe!) I’d love to promote our Filipino Cuisine as well and do it the olden-manual way (for fun and for revenge! just kidding!!)

    Thank you so much for the wonderful term. I had so much fun! Filcui2 was actually my most awaited challenging yet a SUPER learning experience class I had last term (2nd term 0809)

    yaaay! 🙂 Take Care Chef!

  2. dudut dolorfino says:

    hi chef hows everything?your are very inspiring。 very true。 got my attention with the final sentences “paradigm shit“ heheh。
    send me and js some of your special recipes so we could sell to people here at our resto。 see you soon chef

  3. admin says:

    Dudut I miss you! And Felix too! Alethea and JS! Wow dami na ninyong SHRIM New Yorkers! Cool!

  4. Erica A. says:

    aaaw.. we’re not here. hahaha i miss our filcui class. 😀

  5. JJ Viel says:

    Hey this is my Function! how can you forget the E.C. Chef?! HAHAHAHA! FILCUI was surely fun, dont forget what i told you chef, spread the word of Ibaloi cooking! haha! The way how Ibaloi’s would hold their knife etc. haha! see you around school chef!

Leave a Reply

