Going Sideways (part 1)

I am so blessed to now be in California “the land of fine food and wine” for the term break. When I woke up this morning my sister and her husband asked me which malls did I want to visit…Malls!?! We are in Lodi which is wine country so I would very much want to see the wineries and vineyards. Lodi is now a popular wine destination with over 30 winery tasting rooms that are small and family operated.

I had my first tasting today at Borra Vineyards. I was given a tour and was made to try 6 different bottles. They are known for their Fusion blends..the best one for me was the 2004 Red Fusion -consisting of a blend of Syrah, Merlot, Cabernet and Zinfandel. The young gentleman in-charge was amused with all my questions so my tasting was on the house..hehe!

Today I learned that one barrel of wine contains 740 lbs of grapes, 59 gallons, 24.6 cases, and 1,180 glasses of wine. Lodi is close to Napa and Sonoma…where I am right now is a walk in the clouds 🙂

About Pam

Teacher, cook, foodie, wanderlust
This entry was posted in blog, California, food tours, travel, wine. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Going Sideways (part 1)

  1. dudut says:

    chef, u in cali? go here in nyc, me and felix will show you around!! i’ll bring you to daniel boloud’s resto, vip! hit me up 203*******

  2. admin says:

    Dudut Dolorfino congrats for getting the Daniel Bolound internship. You make us very proud!

Leave a Reply

